Menu Close

Galway University progress to last eight of Fitzgibbon Cup with win over Sethu Waterford

Alex Conair and a goal from Jack O’Mara, combined with a 12-point haul from main shooter Ivan Niland, helped Galway University account for SETU Waterford and progressed to the quarter-finals of the Fitzgibbon Cup.

He included 14 Galway clubmen in his opening line-up, along with Darren O’Brien from Ireland OG Ennis, and captained the team with a 0-9 to 0-2 haul in last year’s final. Score selected. within the first trimester.


SETU Waterford struggled to keep in touch and were cut in the 29th minute when Greg Thomas fed Conair and the midfielder flicked inside the covers to complete the opening goal of the game.

Reuben Halloran accounted for all the visitors’ first half scores as Jeffrey Lynskey’s side led 1-14 to 0-6 at the break with two points each coming from Galway panellists Tiernan Killeen and Brian Concannon.

The third quarter was all about another member of Henry Shefflin’s team as Ivan Niland took centre-stage and unleashed a series of spectacular scores as Galway University extended their advantage to a high of 14 points.

SETU Waterford rallied when on 50 minutes a well taken goal from Halloran was followed by a superb sideline cut from Shane Bennett.


Galway University kept the door firmly shut on the return, although O’Mara Racing was clear to pull away a second of late winners.

They progress well into the last eight, while Fintan O’Connor’s team meet MTU Cork the following week to determine who emerges from the three-team group.

SCORES – Galway University: E Niland 0-12 (0-7f, 0-1 65); A Conair 1-1; Dee O’Brien 0-3; Jay O’Meara 1-0; T Killen, B Concannon, G Thomas 0-2 each; Ann Collins 0-1. Causeway Waterford: R Halloran 1-9 (8f); P Cody 0-2; J Harkin, S Walsh 0-1 each.


Galway University: L O’Reilly; K Hanrahan, O Salmon, M Hardiman; T Killen, E Lawless, C Cunningham; A Conair, I McGlynn; B Concannon, E Niland, D O’Brien; O Flannery, G Thomas, N Collins. sub: J Barrett (44) for Cunningham, J O’Mara (55) for Flannery, R Davitt (55) for Collins, C Lawless for Conair (60).

Causeway Waterford: B. Hennessy; C Ryan, S Purcell, J Fitzgerald; G Fives, S Bennett, J Harkin; M O’Brien, S Walsh; S Lawler, S Fitzgerald, J Prendergast; P Fitzgerald, A Kirwin, R Halloran. subject: P Cody (34) for Lawler.

Ref: R McGann (Claire).


Source link

Posted in Entertainment

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *